Reading Response 5

Merriam’s texts on observation and interviewing have useful information on how to work on my I-search paper. It provided me with many ideas and strategies on how to successfully and efficiently conduct my interviews; what kind of people I need to be interviewing, what kind of questions are appropriate to ask, and how the overall interaction between the interviewer and respondent should be like. This is a wonderful source to guide me through my I-search paper. The question I have chosen to write about is “How do individual adults and adults with children (specifically middle eastern) that immigrate to the United States assimilate into modern society and respond to social norms?” I began to ask myself which individuals would be most appropriate for this interview. My research will consist of primary research where I will be able to communicate with people to achieve the answer I have been searching for. This is much different than a research paper. In a research paper a person can only really benefit from secondary resources so being given the opportunity to try something like this I-search paper is great. I am going to use Merriam’s suggested strategies as I interview my parents and other outside sources that aren’t a part of my family so I can get a good idea of the many stands people have on this topic. During the interviews, I will be using my iPhone to record voice memos and then I will transfer that information into a typed form. This paper will rely heavily on the adults or children’s point of view however; I could even interview myself so I could give my point of view on my own I-search question.

One thought on “Reading Response 5

Leave a comment